Eleven years completed to terrorist attack on Parliament

New Delhi: The terrorist attack on the parliament of India was occurred on December 13, 2001 has now completed 11 years on Thursday. The whole nation pays homage to the martyrs who sacrificed their lives to save one of the important buildings in the country.

The attack was on the temple of democracy by the heavily armed terrorists and in the heart of the national capital.

In that attack, eleven persons including five policemen were killed. Vice President M. Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley, BJP leader Lal Krishna Advani offered floral tributes to the martyrs on their memorial.

The main accused in this attack, Mohammed Afzal Guru was held guilty and awarded death sentence by a Delhi court on December 18, 2002. Guru was the mastermind of the whole attack was charged for planning an attack on the parliament.

Guru’s death sentence was upheld by the Delhi High Court and his plea was rejected by the Supreme Court two years later.

Later, Afzal Guru filed a mercy petition with the President, who forwarded it to Union Home Ministry for its comments.

india current affairs


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s